New book: "A Cobra Hijacked my Camera Bag"

The place for new fieldguides and discussions on books on field herpetology, description and discussion on new (sub)species, etc.

New book: "A Cobra Hijacked my Camera Bag"

Postby Hans Breuer » Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:18 am

Hi all,

my name is Hans Breuer, I'm an amateur herper and nature photographer currently based in Kuching, Sarawak, Borneo, where I relocated after twenty-two years of life in Taiwan.

After many years of working with reptiles and amphibians in Taiwan, in spring 2010 the opportunity arose to write a 6000-word cover story about the island’s herpetofauna for the inaugural print issue of “Herp Nation”. Reader resonance was very positive, and many stated their interest in an entire book about my adventures searching for and photographing snakes in the wilds of this beautiful and ecologically rich island. I complied, and now the book is finally out. Here are more details for your kind perusal:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"A Cobra Hijacked My Camera Bag! - Snakes And Stories From Taiwan"

is now available online. US readers, please order here. For non-US readers, the book is now also available through BookDepository where anyone in a wide range of
countries can order the book for just a little more than the US price and get free shipping -see here.

Further purchase options:
Barnes & Noble
Amazon UK
TheNile.com.au

Here's the table of contents:

Prologue – Why did it have to be snakes...and why in Taiwan?
Herping in Taiwan – An Overview
Cobras – Rice Ladle With Attitude
Ratsnakes - The Fast and the Furious
Vipers – Clint Eastwoods of Snakedom
Krait – Satans Rubber Toy
Rear-Fanged – Daggers in the Back
Miscellaneous - The Weird and the Wonderful
Pangolin – The Beast That Time Forgot

And here's the back cover blurb: