Freddy from France ...

The admin would like to ask all our members to give a short introduction of themselves here - also please include a picture of yourself, so we will recognize you in the field.

Freddy from France ...

Postby Freddy Gontier » Tue Feb 15, 2011 7:13 pm

Hello everyone and thank you to Mario for inviting me here !

I am French, I am 60 years old. I live in west of France.
I no longer work because I am retired now.

I am not, strictly speaking, a confirmed herpetologist as many of you here because I am not particularly interested in snakes, lizards or frogs ... I'm just a very modest amateur naturalist mainly interested in studying mediterranean tortoises in their natural environments and particulary in the recognition of various taxa of Testudo hermanni, Testudo hercegovinensis and Testudo boettgeri ...

My passion for turtles is old and dates from my childhood ... probably because my grandmother had two turtles in her garden ...

I've done some research in France, Sardinia and the Balkans (Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro and Greece).

This year, I will explore in Serbia, Romania, the Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) and Greece.

It is through the very beautiful photographs of Aleksander Simovic I came to you ...

If Mario is ok, I could send you here some photographic documentation of my research ...

In the meantime, here's some info on my past research:

In Croatia in 2007:

http://www.ciopa.hr/izvjesce_francuzi.htm

http://www.ciopa.hr/vijesti.htm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxvASJFo ... re=related

In Greece in 2008 and 2009:

http://pelops.org/fs/fs.htm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEYVHTqzUp4

Here in the greek Peloponnese in 2010:

I found there a tortoise basking with … two snakes ...!

Among all the turtles I discovered in nature, it was the first time in my life I saw such a scene ! :roll:

Sincerely

Freddy
Freddy Gontier

Hometown: Nantes

Re: Freddy from France ...

Postby Vlad Cioflec » Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:44 am